Disaster Relief Funds


The Alabama Education Association and NEA Member Benefits have partnered to provide disaster relief assistance and funding to members impacted by the tornadoes that devastated the city of Selma and many other Alabama counties on January 12, 2023.

Nine tornadoes ripped across Central Alabama, impacting citizens in Autauga, Coosa, Elmore, Greene, Hale, Macon, Mobile, Morgan, Sumter, and Tallapoosa Counties. In Autauga County, seven individuals lost their lives due to the E3 tornado that touched down in the Marbury Community, where more than 40 homes were destroyed. The city of Selma also suffered widespread damage from the E2 tornado. Severe storms and damaging straight-line winds impacted areas of the state.

Thanks to a generous grant from the NEA Member Benefits Relief Fund, AEA members can receive funds to help rebuild their homes and cover insurance, medical, and other essential expenses during this difficult time.

Members in the following local associations are eligible to receive up to $500.00 in financial assistance:
Alexander City – Merged
Autauga County – Active
Autauga County – ESP
Chickasaw City - Merged
Coosa County – Active
Coosa County – ESP
Dallas County – Merged
Elmore County –Active
Elmore County – ESP
Greene County – Active
Greene County – ESP
Hale County – Merged
Macon County – Active
Macon County – ESP
Mobile County – Active
Mobile County – ESP
Morgan County – Merged
Saraland City – Merged
Satsuma City – Merged
Selma City – Merged
Sumter County – Active
Sumter County – ESP
Tallapoosa County – Active
Tallapoosa County – ESP

To apply, click HERE